The Geologic Time Scale

The geologic time scale is split into four major eras–Precambrian, Paleozoic, Mesozoic, and Cenozoic, and are subdivided into periods. The number beside the era or period in the infotoon below shows how many years ago it began. I thought it would be fun to show it as walk through the park. This would also make for a great class project as well. For more information, see the Earth issue of Kids Discover magazine. We start at the Precambrian…

Note: MYA=millions of years


About mikey

Providing children (and their handlers) with thoughtful, evocative illustration for over 20 years.
This entry was posted in infotoon and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Geologic Time Scale

  1. very creative! is this a game too?

  2. mikey says:

    No, but I was inspired by Chutes and Ladders. Then I decided to take the long view, and let kids “help me” illustrate the paths. I guess it could be a game… it would be fun and educational. Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s